TBRTakedown 4.0 TBR

I’ve been an avid Booktube viewer for a while now (I was thinking of starting a channel, but it takes me FOREVER to edit videos  – as any of my personal tumblr followers will tell you) and one of my favorite Booktubers, leaninglights, a.k.a Shannon, hosts the TBRTakedown Read-a-Thon a couple of times throughout the year. And (at the last second as usual), I’ve decided to join in!

The whole feel of TBRTakedown is very casual, but there are reading challenges (as well as challenges and giveaways on twitter both here and here). But I’ve decided to give you a bit of a breakdown about what I’ll be attempting to read this week.

IMG_0645

Scary, innit? Let’s break it down by challenge:

IMG_06481.A book that’s been on your TBR for over a year.  For this I chose Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen. This has been chilling on my shelf for well over a year. I bought it because Fictional Boyfriend Numero Uno made me because I’m a shamless OUAT fan and COME ON. I’m actually ashamed I haven’t read this yet. As an added bonus, this was recently recommended by a OUAT fan twitter as suggested read for like-minded shippers, so YAY! FEELS!

 

 

IMG_0649

 

2. A Sequel. I picked two for this category: The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray and Bay of Sighs by Nora Roberts. I was already reading both of them. I’m already halfway through the audiobook of The Sweet Far Thing (and Kartik finally showed up PRAISE) and I know I’m going to finish it this week. I just got Bay of Sighs last week, and while I’m not very far in, I’m DYING to get back into this series.

 

 

IMG_0650

 

3. First Book in a Series. I chose The Fixer by Jenifer Lynn Barnes. I read The Naturals by the same author earlier this year and really enjoyed it but never got around to reading this one. I know the sequel is coming out  -or is already out? WHY AM I SO BAD WITH RELEASE DATES??? – so I figured I’d give this a shot.

 

 

 

IMG_0651

 

4. A Book Outside Your Comfort Zone: The Deal by Elle Kennedy. New Adult Contemporary is DEF outside my comfort zone – mainly the Contemporary part. I like my romances historical or suspenseful. But this one has IMPECCABLE reviews on Goodreads and it has a hockey subplot which will fill the void in my heart now that MY BOYS WON THE STANLEY CUP. I mean, now that the postseason is over. Also, for obvious reasons, this book isn’t leaving my house *shakes fist at sky yelling “why was my kindle on the fritz when I bought this book”*

 

5. AIMG_0652 Book From Your Last Haul: The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye. I’ve been hearing a lot about this book lately and I bought it to see what all the fuss was about. Also, that cover is GORGEOUS. Like wow that is beautiful.

 

 

 

 

 

Looks like I’m in for a busy week. If you’re interested in joining in on the read-a-thon, go ahead and checkout the announcement video here! And if you’re already taking down your TBR, let me know what you’re reading!

Leave a Reply

