Waiting on Wednesday: Carve the Mark – Veronica Roth

Waiting On Wednesday in a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine in which we discuss an upcoming release that you’re…well…waiting on! And this seems like the perfect excuse to have mini fangirl freakouts over the books I NEED ASAP.

This week, I’m flailing over CARVE THE MARK

What You Need to Know

30233110Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Published by HarperCollins on January 17, 2017

Synopsis: On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not — their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuve, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive — no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive — or to destroy one another.

Why I’m Flailing

VERONICA ROTH IS WRITING A NEW BOOOOOOOOOOOK.

That’s basically it. That’s the main reason I’m excited. It also sounds very interesting and I’m currently on a sci-fi kick, so this might feed that need and I am really excited to see how Veronica Roth handles sci-fi vs. Divergent‘s dystopian  – though I will admit I never finished that series. Basically, finale spoilers are bad and make people *cough*me*cough* never pick up the book because of anger and feels.  Sue me.

But I am so excited for this and I need it like yesterday.

Review: The Conspiracy of Us – Maggie Hall

the-conspiracy-of-usTitle: The Conspiracy of Us  (The Conspiracy of Us #1)

Author: Maggie Hall (twitter) (site)

Publisher//Release Date: Putnam Juvenile // January 13th, 2015

Genre: YA, Mystery

Source: Purchased

Goodreads      Amazon      Barnes and Noble

Synopsis: A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.

Rating: ★★★☆☆

I am conflicted.

Like SUPER conflicted. Because there is a lot to not like in The Conspiracy of Us. 

Yet, I kind of loved it?

I read it in two sittings – a total of five hours of reading time. I flew through it and enjoyed every second of it. I bought the sequel before I even finished the first one  and REALLY can’t wait for the finale to come out next year? And I feel like I should care…..but I really don’t?

Yeah, I’m conflicted.

Let’s break it down:

Continue reading

December Releases That I’m Preordering

Hello Everyone! I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving (if you celebrate). It’s that time of the month where finalize all the books that are coming out in the next month that I want so badly, I’m buying them before they come out. And I’m telling you all about them on a day dedicated to, well, buying everything.

There’s actually not that many books coming out in December that I need to have the day they hit the shelves. But the few that piqued my interest are discussed here.

Let’s break it down:

Continue reading

Review: A Million Worlds With You (Firebird #3) – Claudia Gray

28960100Title : A Million Worlds With You (Firebird #3)

Author: Claudia Gray (twitter) (site)

Publisher//Release Date: HarperTeen//November 1, 2016

Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Romance

Source: Purchased

Goodreads      Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Synopsis: A million universes. A million dangers. One destiny.

The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite Caine’s hands. Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud since she first traveled to another universe using her parents’ invention, the Firebird. Only now has she learned the true plans of the evil Triad Corporation—and that those plans could spell doom for dozens or hundreds of universes, each facing total annihilation.

Paul Markov has always been at Marguerite’s side, but Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man—angry and shadowed by tragedy. He struggles to overcome the damage done to him, but despite Marguerite’s efforts to help, Paul may never be the same again.

So it’s up to Marguerite alone to stop the destruction of the multiverse. Billions of lives are at stake. The risks have never been higher. And Triad has unleashed its ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite—wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead.

In the epic conclusion to Claudia Gray’s Firebird trilogy, fate and family will be questioned, loves will be won and lost, and the multiverse will be forever changed. It’s a battle of the Marguerites . . . and only one can win.

Rating: 4/5

It’s not very often that book takes me by surprise – I’m pretty good about picking books that I KNOW I am going to like. I am also not one to marathon series.

This is an exception to both of those rules.

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this series – a lot of which had to do with reading them almost back to back (I have reviews for book one and book two). And after the second book – OMG THAT ENDING – I COULDN’T WAIT for the finale. And I wasn’t disappointed. And while the third installment wasn’t I mind-blowing, earth-shattering five-star, masterpiece, neither was the rest of the trilogy and this was just as good as the other two books and good wrap up to the series as a whole.

Let’s Break it Down:

Continue reading

What I’m Reading – 11/21/2016

Hey Reading World, I’m back with another update on my reading life. Or (as the case may be) lack thereof. Let’s just jump right into this:

What I’ve Finished

I finished A Million Worlds with You last Monday as scheduled (review will be going up today, keep an eye out). But since then?

Absolutely nothing (say it again y’all)

Basically, work introduced this wonderful invention called mandatory overtime and, while I love getting paid for overtime, my life is in utter chaos. I’m reading a million and one books, I’m behind on all my TV shows and reaction videos and a small part of me wants to jump out a window along with my blogging schedule that went to hell in a hand basket. And in the holidays and life is just peachy.

Yeahhhhhhhhh

What I’m Reading

Everything. I am reading everything.

I’m reading Heartless but the story is moving a little slower than I anticipated at first – I’m in the groove of it now, and I’m really liking it – but I’m not where I would like to be in it. Namely finished with it. And completely unplanned, I got sucked into The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall and got 60% of the way through it in a sitting and just bought the sequel. It’s just what I need right now – fast-paced and uncomplicated – and will be finishing it ASAP. Meanwhile, Dead House is just sitting there unfinished and I need to finish The Sixth Extinction before Overdrive takes it away from me (though I do have a physical copy of it….).

And we’re not talking about Crooked Kingdom. I don’t want to go there. I haven’t finished it yet and I’m sad.

What’s Up Next

After I attempt to finish everything that I’m currently reading (*sobs*), I MUST HAVE TO NEED TO RIGHT NOW get to Gemina because come the eff on, Calle, get your act together. I still want to start Glitter by Aprilynne Pike and I will definitely be starting Map of Fates by Maggie Hall as soon as I finish Conspiracy of Us because I can feel the cliffhanger coming from miles off and I am going to need it.

This is all assuming life doesn’t continue to kick my ass on a daily basis.

UGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

That’s it for now.

See you next time!

What I’m Watching: Fave Current TV Shows

Fall always makes my reading life miserable because the NUMBER ONE distraction of my life returns in full force: Television.

I love TV. I love the serial format. I love having cliffhangers that make me freak out in the last ten minutes and having to wait a week or a month or six for your show to come off of hiatus *cough*Outlander*cough*.

Well, maybe not the hiatus.

And if I’m not reading as much as I should (or I think I should), I figured I should give you an idea of what I’m doing in my not reading time.

Let’s break it down:

Continue reading