Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read if Your Book Club Likes Historical Fiction

top-ten-tuesday-header

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

If I had to make a book club recommendation, the first question I ask is “How much can you discuss after reading the book?” With that in mind, these are the 9 Historical Fiction books that I would recommend for a history-loving book club:

  1. The Nightingale – Kristen Hannah.
  2. A Great and Terrible Beauty – Libba Bray
  3. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  4. These Shallow Graves – Jennifer Donnelly
  5. A Tyranny of Petticoats – Jessica Spotswood (editor)
  6. Iron Cast – Destiny Soria
  7. The House Girl – Tara Conklin
  8. Salt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys
  9. Walk on Earth a Stranger – Rae Carson
  10. Front Lines – Michael Grant **I’m reading this right now and I can feel potential discussion questions forming in my mind.**

    Any books you would like to recommend?

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read if Your Book Club Likes Historical Fiction

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    What a lovely list – A Tyranny of Petticoats is a great title isn’t it! Sounds like a collective name for a bunch of women in the Austen era – like a flock of geese, a pride of lions, a swarm of bees and a tyranny of petticoats – I’m totally stealing that. i love it.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  2. LHauser27 says:

    Hi! I’d like to read more historical fiction. My favorite historical YA so far has been Out of the Dust. I’ve read others since then, but that one really stuck with me. I’d love to read The Nightingale. Great list!
    My TTT
    Leslie

    Like

  3. michellefabbookreviews says:

    This list! Like a reader after my own heart! Love it. I realize that I have a great number of historical YA to catch up on, though 🙂 Have you ever read Y.S. Lee’s The Agency (YA) series? Really enjoyed that one! Jennifer McGowan and Katherine Longshore are other YA historical fic writers I enjoy! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

