Review: A Million Worlds With You (Firebird #3) – Claudia Gray

28960100Title : A Million Worlds With You (Firebird #3)

Author: Claudia Gray (twitter) (site)

Publisher//Release Date: HarperTeen//November 1, 2016

Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Romance

Source: Purchased

Goodreads      Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Synopsis: A million universes. A million dangers. One destiny.

The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite Caine’s hands. Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud since she first traveled to another universe using her parents’ invention, the Firebird. Only now has she learned the true plans of the evil Triad Corporation—and that those plans could spell doom for dozens or hundreds of universes, each facing total annihilation.

Paul Markov has always been at Marguerite’s side, but Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man—angry and shadowed by tragedy. He struggles to overcome the damage done to him, but despite Marguerite’s efforts to help, Paul may never be the same again.

So it’s up to Marguerite alone to stop the destruction of the multiverse. Billions of lives are at stake. The risks have never been higher. And Triad has unleashed its ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite—wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead.

In the epic conclusion to Claudia Gray’s Firebird trilogy, fate and family will be questioned, loves will be won and lost, and the multiverse will be forever changed. It’s a battle of the Marguerites . . . and only one can win.

Rating: 4/5

It’s not very often that book takes me by surprise – I’m pretty good about picking books that I KNOW I am going to like. I am also not one to marathon series.

This is an exception to both of those rules.

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this series – a lot of which had to do with reading them almost back to back (I have reviews for book one and book two). And after the second book – OMG THAT ENDING – I COULDN’T WAIT for the finale. And I wasn’t disappointed. And while the third installment wasn’t I mind-blowing, earth-shattering five-star, masterpiece, neither was the rest of the trilogy and this was just as good as the other two books and good wrap up to the series as a whole.

Let’s Break it Down:

What I Liked:

  • Revisiting Dimensions. They do a sort of “greatest hits” of the dimensions visited in the last few books, along with introducing a few new ones, bringing the other ‘verses into the main plot. It’s a great way to wrap up the series and tie up some plot lines  – like what happened after Marguerite and Co. left their dimensions. We also get interactions between characters from different dimensions knowing  that they’re from different dimensions, which was fascinating. And, while this might be a bit of a spoiler, there is a bit of a “Seven Potters” moment and its my favorite scene in the series. Period.
  • Heightened Stakes.  I said this about the second book in the series, and it happened again. The scope is greater, the danger is definite, the stakes are higher than they’ve ever been. It really moves the story forward and makes it hard to find a stopping point.
  • Characters. I haven’t really talked about the characters in the series – particularly how there’s multiple distinctive versions of each one – and the interaction between all of them. How different worlds and different lives have made them different people but there is something that’s always familiar. And I became attached to all of the different versions of our main trio and seeing what happened to all of them and what happens to them. I went through a bit of emotional turmoil throughout this book it made me realized how much I really loved these guys and how much I am going to miss reading about them. And, for no particular reason, I have a massive crush on Warverse Theo. I just need to get that off my chest. I love Warverse Theo. There I said it.

What I Didn’t Like:

  • Angsty Paul. I don’t want to go into so much detail about it – has a lot to do with the events of the second books – but it wasn’t pleasant. He’s a brooding Russian guy by nature – but he’s so damn angst-ridden in this one, I found him more than a little frustrating. It also led to romantic drama that, given the angst, was inevitable. It was cliché and, while I understood why he was feeling the way he felt, it was really annoying.
  • Still with the damn love triangle. I’m not the type of person who complains about love triangles. I’m not eager for them, but they don’t drive me up a wall unless they’re super annoying. This was kind of annoying, based strictly on the fact I felt that it was resolved in the first book of the series. There are reasons it’s still going (ie, multiple versions of characters, situation is flipped), but it felt a little unneeded (and made me question why I wanted the main couple together in the first place because OH HEY I love the other guy as much as the boyfriend).
  • A minor complaint. Basically: I don’t know if I get all the science behind the world. I know nothing of physics and I thought I had it down but trying to explain the plot of the series to my mom got me to the conclusion that I don’t know if I understand it all. I blame it on my lack of knowledge of physics and my recent distance from science in general. Again, it’s a minor thing that not all readers are going to experience and, honestly, it’s probably me having a subconscious “ewwww science” moment.

Unrelated to my review but I have a desperate need for this to be on TV. God, this would be a perfect TV show for CW or ABC Family (or Freeform or whatever they’re calling it these days). I wouldn’t be surprised if I headcanon cast everyone and throw it up on here. I’m not even joking. Just watch me do it. Challenge excepted.

tl;dr: A Million Worlds with You is a fitting conclusion to a solid trilogy. While there are complaints that I have had with the series as a whole, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this trilogy, particularly to those who are new to science fiction as a genre.

Leave a Reply

