Top Ten Tuesday: Books That I’m Thankful I’ve Read

top-ten-tuesday-header

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

In honor of Thanksgiving here in the United States, I’m listing the books that I’m most thankful that I’ve read over the years.

Let’s break it down:

  1. The Harry Potter series – J.K. Rowling. Giant shocker, I know but I grew up with this series; I started the first book when I was 11 years old and the final book came out just before I turned 17. I was always the same age as the characters. I grew up with them. This started my love of fantasy and magic and fiction in general (I only really read nonfiction about natural disasters and the occasional Nancy Drew book up til this point). And I still love it as much now as I did when I first started the series.
  2. Steal Away Home – Lois Ruby. This was a random middle grade historical fiction book that I picked up at a book fair when I was in upper elementary school and I was absolutely obsessed with it and it made me into a giant historical fiction buff. I was already a history nerd (and I am proud to say I still am) and this book – about the Underground Railroad and Quakers and Bleeding Kansas – was like absolute candy. I lost my copy years ago  in a move and I would really like to read it again one of these day.
  3. The Nightingale – Kristen Hannah. This is a more recent read for me but I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT. I’ve never had a book affect me as emotionally as this one – like send me into hours long crying jags, lying in bed thinking about the parts that I’ve just read, unable to get them out of my head. This one stuck with me and it will stick with me. I know I’m never forget it.
  4. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austin.Pardon me for being a basic white girl, but this is one of the few books I was assigned to read in high school that I actually remember enjoying. It’s also one of the only school assigned books that I re-read in my free time and still enjoyed. I know that’s weird thing to say that I’m thankful for, but every time I’ve read Pride and Prejudice, I feel insanely happy after doing it.
  5. The Women’s Murder Club series – James Patterson (and a butt ton of co-authors).  I credit this series – and my mom – with rescuing my ability to read for fun, because college almost killed it dead. I hadn’t read a book for fun in almost a year, and my mom literally handed me 1st to Die. I tore through all of the series – 12 at the time – in about a month and a half and the series re-taught me how to read out of a love of reading again.
  6. The Twilight Saga – Stephanie Meyer. I thought LONG AND HARD about keeping this one on the list because I have a complicated history with this series. I was completely obsessed with Twilight for a really long time. Were talking full on Twihard. But I reread the series right before Breaking Dawn came out and my obsession started to fade – which was cemented by how much I disliked that last book. But Twilight was what cemented my group of friends in high school – we were the original Twilight groupies – and it meant a lot to me at the time, and, when I think about the series, no matter how I feel about it now, I get a great deal of nostalgia about it.

That’s it for now. What books are you thankful you’ve read?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That I’m Thankful I’ve Read

  1. Jamie @ Book Pandamonium says:

    I am also 100% thankful for Harry Potter and Pride and Prejudice. I hate classics but Pride and Prejudice was just so good!! And Steal Away Home sounds interesting- I’ve never read a middle grade historical fiction before. (I’ve read the Magic Tree House books but I don’t think that counts 😂)

    Like

Leave a Reply

