My 2017 Reading Goals

At the beginning of every year, everyone and their mothers make resolutions and goals for the coming year. People of the reading sort will, naturally, include a few book-ish goals, myself included. Considering my blog is about books, I thought I would share my goals for the year here.

Let’s break it down:

  1. Read 2 Books a Week. This is my actual reading goal for the year. Don’t get nervous, I did set a Goodreads goal for this year – 100 Books. But the actual goal is, simply to read two books a week. It’s a lot less stressful to look at two books then the big giant looming number that is 100.
  2. Read More Diversely. I know this is the new hot topic of the moment – and rightly so. I’m white, straight and cis-gender and it didn’t hit me until recently that my default is to read about characters that are the same as me. I want to make a point to try to read more books where the characters are less like me. It’s actually not that difficult to do – it seems like publishers are making an effort to publish books with diverse characters and by diverse authors – its more of me pushing myself out of my comfort zone. I don’t want to put a number on it because I feel like that will trivialize it – like “I read my  diverse book for the month, so I’m good”. I’m trying more to change my habits so becomes more of picking up a diverse book isn’t an exception anymore.
  3. Finish/Catch Up with the Following Series:
    • All of the literal ton of Shadowhunter books that I haven’t read by Cassandra Clare. I want to finish all of the books that I hadn’t read before Lord of Shadows comes out in May- I have to finish both the Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices series and Tales from Shadowhunter Acadamy and Lady Midnight. LET’S GO. (5/12)
    • Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo.(1/2)
    • Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. (1/3)
    • The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas (2/7)
    • The Cainsville series by Kelley Armstrong (1/5)
    • The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. The 16th book, Peace Talks, is apparently coming out sometimes this year. If it ends up with a release date that’s before, say, November, get ready, because I’m going headfirst down this rabbit hole. I mean,  I’m already going there, I’m just pacing myself. (4/15)
  4. Read The Following Series:
    • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
    • The Wrath and the Dawn duology by Renee Adhieh
    • The Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes
  5. Create – and actually follow! – A Blogging Schedule. I know this sounds easy, but I have a complete and total lack of time management skills. One of my personal goals for the year is to attempt to be more organized and keeping this blog in a state of manageable chaos is one of them. I have – kind of – have a system in place. Now lets see if I can keep to it.

That’s it for my goals this year. What reading goals are you aiming for this year?

One thought on “My 2017 Reading Goals

Leave a Reply

