Adaptation Wish List

I will start off by saying that I fully and lovingly swiped this from a tag that was going around on Booktube videos. To give credit where credit is due, the person who created the tag is SheMightBeMonica and, let me tell you, this is a wonderful video hole to get stuck it, because I did and that’s how this post came to be. I wasn’t tagged and I’m not tagging anyone else (mostly because I don’t know if anyone has done it or not and I don’t know anyone and {insert new blogger first world problems here}, yada yada yada). Basically, I just wanted to do this tag.

Basically, the point of this tag is to create a wish list of book adaptations you want to see happen in a variety of different categories. There’s some not-often thought of ideas, like plays. What stories do you want to see adapted as a play? That’s really one to think about.

Let’s Break it Down:

Movie
I’m going to start off with The Nightingale by Kristen Hannah. I have a thing with WWII books; I read them, have my heart torn to pieces and immediately want to see that story on film so I can have my heart torn to pieces some more. But this was one of my favorite books of last year and, I can honestly say, one of my favorite books of all time. If done correctly, a movie adaptation would easily be one of my favorite movies of all time. Another book I would love to see a film adaptation of would be Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I feel like it would adapt very well to the screen and the cinematography has the potential to be absolutely gorgeous.

TV Show
Lemme get this out of the way now: TV is my preferred method of adaptation for books, especially series. You can get all of the details that need to be in there to keep the fans happy without having to drag everything out into an additional movie. I am so utterly happy with the adaptation of Outlander that I now want all my favorites books to be TV shows.

That being said…

THE DIVINERS NEEDS TO BE A TV SHOW. I don’t know if anyone understands how badly I want this to be a thing. It has just the right amount of characters – not so many that you can’t keep track, but enough that not everyone in the story knows what everyone else is up to, giving the TV writers more than enough material to work with. There’s a fantastic historical setting, with the added bonus of potential for gorgeous costumes and some really great music. There’s a ton of diverse characters in the series and a socially relevant, even if it’s set in the 1920s. Basically, this is made for TV and I want the thing.

Another series that I would love to see as a TV show would be The Firebird Trilogy by Claudia Gray. This series snuck up on me last year and my number one thought is that ABC Family or Freeform or whatever the heck they’re calling it these days should get their hands on this one, because it has their name all over it. The series is a great alternative to the time travel plot that is so popular in books and movies these days. There’s enough room in the series that they could play around in the world a bit and it would really give the three young actors who play Marguerite, Paul and Theo to pull a Tatiana Maslany and play a gazillion and one versions of themselves in other dimensions. Not to mention this series is fun as hell.

Cartoon
This was super hard for me. I haven’t honestly watched a non-feature length animated movie in…years and not an animated show since….Kim Possible went off the air in the late 2000s? When was that?

I honestly don’t know what my answer should be for this. The only thing that came to me was The Magic Tree House series by Mary Pope Osborne. I’ve never read those books and I only know a little bit about them. But like as a PBS show, I think they’d do well.

Other than that, I got nothing.

NEXT

Graphic Novel/Comic
Kind of like the previous question, I’m a little at a loss for this. I don’t really read either one of them – I would like to read graphic novels, and I did buy one, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet – but I’m not really sure what I should answer here, because I don’t really know. I suppose I could say The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, but I don’t know if that’s cheating because its kind of becoming a graphic novel – with the spin-off Wires and Nerve being released in a little over two weeks. But I really like the artwork I’ve seen from it, so I wouldn’t mind rereading the series but in a different format. Yeah I know it’s another cop-out answer, sue me.

NEXT

Play
This answer is going to sound insane. I know its going to sound insane. I even think its insane. But when I was reading The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, all I could picture was a super minimalist play done in a black box theatre. Don’t even ask why, because I don’t have an answer. But all I could picture was the opening scene with Blue and Gansey and the churchyard and nothing but them and edgy lighting to make it creepy and eerie and super compelling. I have an inner theatre nerd that came out HARDCORE just now I am so sorry.

I also would really want to see a play version of The Westing Game by Ellen…. mostly because I am 99% sure that a play of this actually exists and a high school around me performed it. This was my absolute favorite book in upper elementary school and I want to see it brought to life more than life itself. I also more than a little want to play Turtle Wexler, but I think that ship sailed a LONG time ago.

Musical
More than anything else in the world: The Mortal Instruments – but in the style of A Very Potter Musical. There is a literal metric ton of material with that series and, honestly, the thought of Jace singing is making me giggle. I want it. I want the thing. Someone make it happen for the love of god. If I could write lyrics, I would have done it already.

I also would love to see Midnight Bayou by Nora Roberts as a musical. I know that sounds like a weird commodity to see, but the potential for a really kick ass score – New Orleans Jazz and Cajun music anyone? Like, I got bored one day and marked out the song posts (the places where the songs would appear in a musical) and the type of song that would go there if I was writing it. As I have neither the adaptation rights nor the ability to write lyrics, that’s all the further it’s going. But it’s really fun to think about.

That’s all for me this time. What books do you want to see adapted?

Leave a Reply

