Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Need to Reread

top-ten-tuesday-header

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.

I am realllllllllly bad about rereading book I love – I usually do it via audiobook so I can take my time with it, and so that I can read other books and not feel like there’s so much else I could/should be reading. Also tend to start series and not continue with the rest of the books and I forget what happened in the first book and I don’t trust myself to remember as I read and can’t finish the series in a timely fashion because I need to reread the first book(s). You’ll see this a lot on this list.

But these are the Top Ten Books that I would really like to reread….eventually?

Let’s break it down…

  1. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. I sound like a broken record with Harry Potter but, while I’ve reread my favorite books/scenes from the books over and over again over the years, I haven’t done a full reread of the series since the summer Deathly Hallows was released (and I’ve only read Order of the Phoenix twice – the first time and in that mega reread). I’m probably going to tackle this via audiobook because for some reason I really like Jim Dale’s reading of it. I think is voice is soothing and the voice he does for McGonigall is hilarious.
  2. Omens (and the rest of the Cainsville series) by Kelley Armstrong. This one is one of those ones I need to make a priority because the final book in this series comes out in August and I really want to catch up. I read the first book a couple of years ago, LOVED IT, and haven’t finished the rest of the series EVEN THOUGH I BOUGHT THE REST OF THE BOOKS ON THEIR RELEASE DATE. I will say that there are a lot of details in this series that will come up later in the other books – the author literally starts the books with an Author’s Note amounting to “Google at your own risk.” I actually started to read this again last year and got distracted by other books. I need to get back into it.
  3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I LOVED this book back in high school – despite the fact that I wrote chapter logs that poked a lot of fun at the amount of melodrama. What I don’t know is if a lot of that love had to with the amount of times it was mentioned in Twilight.
  4. Red Queen (and the rest of the series) by Victoria Aveyard. This one is pretty simple. A lot of time had passed since I had read the first book that when I eagerly started Glass Sword on its release date, I couldn’t remember anything from the first book, even though I had read the official recap put out by the publisher. I got the audiobook from the library to reread it, but let it expire. And now the third book is coming out and I don’t know what to do. I really enjoyed the first book – I thought it was a bit derivative at the beginning, but came into its own world the more it went on – but I’m also apprehensive because I’m afraid that I won’t like it if I reread it the second time.
  5. A Drink Before the War (and the rest of the Kensie/Genaro series) by Dennis Lehane. I watched Gone Baby Gone with my mom, who LOVES this series – handed me the copy of the first book. I adored it, went out and bought copies of all the books for myself, which I lent to a coworker AND NEVER GOT BACK YES, I AM STILL ANGRY, AND NO, I DON’T TALK TO THEM ANYMORE. I need to buy new copies and reread the first book and FINALLY read the rest of the series.
  6. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan. These came out when I was in high school – HOLY MOLY I just dated myself – and my friends and I DEVOURED them. I never went on with the Heroes of Olympus series and I would really like to read that series….but I haven’t read the first series in so long and I think I need reread that to really get back in the world.
  7. Voyager (and the rest of the Outlander series) by Diana Gabaldon. Like everyone and their mom these days is watching the Outlander show and reading the books. I read the first three books – no lie – in a week and a half because I needed to de-stress from finals and ended up forgoing having a social life (and studying for a history test–oops), because I was sitting in my room SOBBING, because Jamie Fraser. I did read it really quickly and I want to get to it before the 3rd season premieres whenever that is i’m not bitter i swear – but I’m not that stressed if I don’t. I’ll probably go the audiobook route with this one (I “reread” the Dragonfly in Amber with the audiobook and REALLY liked the narrator – so this will probably happen).
  8. A Discovery of Witches (and the rest of the All Souls Trilogy) by Deborah Harkness. I read this book and ADORED IT but never went on with the rest of the series – I still haven’t purchased the second book and my local library doesn’t have a copy and  – as you will probably hear many times on here – they have super complicated inter-library loan policies, so i never got around to picking it up and so much time has passed that I forget some of the details from the first book. I could probably pick it up without an issue, but also really want to reread the first book because I liked it so much.
  9. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. There was a TON of hype about this back when I was in high school – I think I had just graduated, because I remember talking about it with people in college – but I never got around to finishing it because MY MOTHER RETURNED IT TO THE LIBRARY BEFORE I HAD FINISHED IT INSTEAD OF RENEWING IT LIKE I HAD PLANNED TO. I’m not bitter about it at all. I just remember reading this book and loving how subtly suspenseful and creepy it was and I really want to get back into it again.
  10. The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare. I know. I know. I just read this series. But after I finished Clockwork Princess, it took all the willpower that I had not to immediately start all over again. I can definitely see myself rereading this in the near future. Hopefully not this year, but….you never know

That’s it for me today! What books are you looking to reread?

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Need to Reread

  1. Caitlin Stern says:

    Mostly I get books from the library, so rereading is more work–but I have a couple of shelves of favorites that I revisit every now and then. There’s never enough time, but I do make some for old friends. 🙂 My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

