Waiting On Wednesday: Dreamland Burning – Jennifer Latham

Waiting On Wednesday in a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine in which we discuss an upcoming release that you’re…well…waiting on! And this seems like the perfect excuse to have mini fangirl freakouts over the books I NEED ASAP.

This week, I’m flailing over

What You Need to Know

24382227Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on February 21st, 2017

Synopsis: Some bodies won’t stay buried.
Some stories need to be told.

When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family’s property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal century-old murder will lead to a summer of painful discoveries about the past… and the present.

Nearly one hundred years earlier, a misguided violent encounter propels seventeen-year-old Will Tillman into a racial firestorm. In a country rife with violence against blacks and a hometown segregated by Jim Crow, Will must make hard choices on a painful journey towards self discovery and face his inner demons in order to do what’s right the night Tulsa burns.

Through intricately interwoven alternating perspectives, Jennifer Latham’s lightning-paced page-turner brings the Tulsa race riot of 1921 to blazing life and raises important question about the complex state of US race relations – both yesterday and today.

 

Add on Goodreads                                          Preorder at Amazon  Barnes and Noble

Why I’m Flailing

This reminds me a great deal of another book that a read back in elementary school that I ADORED called Steal Away Home. The dual storyline and the finding of the body in the backyard are similar enough that I needed to read this. I feel like this one will give a little more adult spin on similar premises, and I feel that given the subject matter (race riots vs The Underground Railroad), this one might be a lot darker as well.

The other thing that caught my interest about this is the Tulsa Race Riots. I had no idea that this event occurred at all until I caught references to it in Front Lines when I read it last year. One quick Google search later and I’m wondering why the hell I never learned about this in school – college included! – and how can I find out more. This book came around at just the right time for me and, given the current cultural climate, probably everyone else as well.

That’s it for me. What about you? What books are you waiting on?

Leave a Reply

