Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Covers of 2017 (at the beginning of the year)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Holy Image Heavy Post, Batman

I’m going to be going a little off the rails this week. The suggested topics included favorite graphic novels or comics or picture books, and that’s a little hard for me. You see, I have never read a graphic novel – as of today, I own two – I don’t really have an interest in comics, and I don’t think I remember the last time I read a picture book.  I thought about books and visuals and immediately stopped on covers.

Covers are a big deal to me. I have purchased books based on nothing but the cover. I will avoid buying books because of the covers. Basically, covers are a big deal for me and will affect the books I buy and read.

So, these are covers of books that either have been or will be released in 2017 that I am already in love with, and, because I’m a complete and total rebel this week, I have FIFTEEN books on my list. Because #YOLO This is obviously an incomplete list and I’m really looking forward to doing another version of this list at the end of the year.

Let’s break it down:

29960804A Good Idea – Cristina Moracho. Hands down, one of the creepiest covers ever. I’m dead serious this is terrifying. That bathtub *shudders*

 

 

 

 

33629245
A Poison Dark and Drowning – Jessica Cluess. Dark and beautiful. I want to read the first book in this series just so I have an excuse to own this book because it’s so gorgeous.

 

 

25226075
Bad Blood – Demetria Luntetta. Those colors though! That’s all I can honestly think of is the colors are so atmospheric and pretty. I really can’t wait for this book and the cover only helps.

 

 

 

27883214

 

Caraval – Stephanie Garber. Oh my god I love the cover of this and the typography of the title is ever so slightly gorgeous. It gives me handwriting envy and it’s not even handwritten. It comes out today and I need it in my hands ASAP (aka when I get home from work).

 

31451001

 

 

Crossing Ebenezer Creek – Tonya Bolden. It looks like a watercolor (I’m no artist or art aficionado, but I’m pretty sure it is) and I absolutely love it.

 

27827203

 

 

 

Frostblood – Elly Blake. What you can’t tell from this picture is that the cover is a.) More grey than white and b.) SHIMMERY AS HELL. Like I am dead serious, it has subtle hints of shimmery hints that literally made me get completely distracted by the shiny in the middle of a conversation with my mom. The cover is as pretty as the writing that’s inside it.
25314447

 

Given to the Sea – Mindy McGinnis.I will admit to knowing next to nothing about this book but the cover is absolutely gorgeous. Between the wave and the typography this is stunning.

31706530

 

 

Grit – Gillian French. I couldn’t tell from far off if this cover was of trees or water or both. Upon closer examination, it’s definitely water, but it’s still really, really pretty. I love the title that being placed vertically. I really want to get my hands on this book.

32051722

 

 

Liberty: The Spy Who (Kind of) Like Me – Andrea Portes. The only word I can come up with for this cover is QUIRKTASTIC. The nesting dolls kill me. Maybe I just have a weird sense of humor but this seems like my kind of book. Color me intrigued.

 

 

32766747

 

The Library of Fates – Aditi Khornana. I love the way the image is not the focus of the cover but the title and the colors are. I LOVE the colors by the way. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

 

30038906

 

 

The Names They Gave Us – Emery Lord. Again with the colors that are stunningly gorgeous. This has all of my favorite colors on one cover and some great typography – I ❤ the hell out of that font  – and I love that tree. This another book by an author that I have never read before that I’m interested in because of the cover.

 

 

32333246

Shimmer and Burn – Mary Taranta. This is another book where I get distracted by the shiny and I am going to be severely disappointed if this isn’t as shiny as it looks.

 

 

31450960

 

 

 

Song of the Current – Sarah Tolcser.This is another book that I don’t know that much about, but LOOK AT THAT COVER. Oooh it’s so pretty. Those swirly pieces – like a current maybe? – I like them. I really like this whole thing. I want the book because of the cover.

30649331

 

Toward a Secret Sky – Heather Maclean.I’m a little biased be cause this is one of my most anticipated books of the first half of this year but I really like the cover to this book. The Scottish countryside and THAT SKY. I really like the flower. I like the backwards letters. I like the flower. I sound like that little girl in front of the mirror who likes her house. But I really like this cover.
25742874

 

The White Road of the Moon – Rachel Neumeier. The photograph on the cover of this book is SO COOL and more than a little haunting. Another book that I don’t know much about but want to find out more about because the cover looks so interesting.

 

 

That’s it for me this time. What upcoming covers are your favorite of this year?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Covers of 2017 (at the beginning of the year)

  1. LHauser27 says:

    Hi! I really like the cover for The Names They Gave Us. I think it’s the colors. Crossing Ebenezer Creek is a good one, too. I haven’t yet heard of that book. I’ll have to check it out! I love covers, too 🙂
    My TTT
    Leslie

    Like

Leave a Reply

