Top Ten Tuesday : Six Books I Wish Were Shorter (and Two I Wish Were Longer)

top-ten-tuesday-header

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.

This weeks’s topic is books that we wish were shorter – or longer.

I have a love/hate relationship with long books. On one hand, so mnay really good books are also really long books and that tends to put people into a mindset that long books are worth it. At the same time, long books take time to read and enjoy and, I don’t know about you, but I spend the whole time thinking of all the other books that I could be reading instead of this big huge thing that I’m slogging through. Like I said, love/hate.

So today, I have a list of six books that I wish were shorter – and, because I’m still feeling like a rebel, a couple of books that I wish were longer. Because #yolo.

Let’s Break it down:

Books I Wish Were Shorter

  1. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo. Les Mis is my favorite musical and I’ve always wanted to read the entire book – I’ve read a few sections for French or history classes in high school and college – but the copy that I have is over a thousand pages long,  and, to be honest, its SUPER intimidating. I know it will be worth it once I’ve read it, but I haven’t gotten to it yet.
  2. Every book ever written by Sarah J Maas. Yo Sarah, WHY ARE YOUR BOOKS SO FREAKING HUGE. I know they’ll be worth it but OH MY GOD THEY ARE HUGE.
  3. Harry Potter and Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling. This book has ruined many a series reread attempt. This book almost single-handedly derailed my love of the series because I was freaking angry. Because Umbridge (among other things). As in I set the book down and didn’t pick it up again for six months. I was that mad. Add angst-ridden Harry and it makes it hard for me to get into this book.
  4. The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. The sad part about this is I’ve read the first three already. And I want to reread them before their respective seasons air. But they are LONG. They’re chock full of lots of historical detail (and Jamie and Roger – ugh Roger yassssss), but again, making time to sit down and read a looooooong book isn’t always something that I feel like I should be doing.
  5. Under the Dome by Stephen King. This is a book that is so long that I don’t even know that I’m ever going to read it. The size put me off the first time I read it and was the main reason that I didn’t continue past the first few chapters – I was getting ready to go back to school, had summer reading to finish, etc. – and almost ten years later, I haven’t gone back.
  6. A Song of Ice and Fire – George R.R. Martin. See above. Though I may tackle this one AFTER all the books have been published.

Books I Wish Were Longer

  1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. This one is kind of selfish because I don’t want it to end! I’ve actually put off reading Stars Above because I know that they last story is the epilogue to the series and I can’t do that to myself. I became so attached to these characters (aka my babies) that this series could go on and on and on forever and I would never get bored. Wires and Nerves will help though.
  2. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. If you think it’s weird that I have a Cassandra Clare book under books that I wish were longer, don’t. She might write some chunky books, but I always read them quickly. Actually there’s a very specific reason that I wish this book was longer. I feel like the ending was rushed a bit could have used a bit of more time to say goodbye to these characters. I also can’t deal with let these guys go either.

That’s it for me this time. What book do you wish were shorter (or longer)?

Leave a Reply

