What I’m Reading – 2/13/17

Hello, everybody. It’s time for the weekly update of all things reading. Let’s get started

What I’ve Read
So… I was bad last week and didn’t finish anything. Again. I’m reading a ton of books and haven’t finished any of them yet and driving myself crazy about it. And TBRTakedown crashed and burned (like all of my attempts at readathons do).

What I’m Reading Now
Right now, I am still reading City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson – technically. I haven’t picked it up in like two weeks but I’m still reading it. Just not actively. Mostly I got distracted by Revolution by Jennifer Donnally – that I am ACTIVELY reading. I’m realllly enjoying it and I’m going to get back to reading it as soon as this post is finished. Actually, I am absolutely loving it. I’m also reading The Hating Game by Sally Thorne which is light and cute and really fun.

What I’m Reading Next
Next up, could be one of a gazillion books, but I am leaning towards either Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth (which I finally broke down and got from the library) or Truthwitch followed immediately by Windwitch by Susan Dennard. I’m also thinking of sitting down one night this week and thoroughly immersing myself in Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer because if I don’t read that soon I’m going to go crazy. BUT The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro is coming out on Tuesday and I might just drop everything and read that because I need more of my hipster BF Jamie Watson in my life. So basically, I don’t know what I’m doing.

New Books
I’m trying to make a conscious effort to not buy as many books – mostly because I’m running out of space and don’t really want to get rid of any of the books I already have, so I’m going to the library more often, which is both a plus and a minus. Plus because books all over the place and it’s (kind of) free!, minus because I will never read all the books I check out in two/three weeks. But I do have a few new books and they are:
Carve the Mark
The Hating Game
A Court of Fives by Kate Elliot

Also, can we talk about how GOODREADS IS FINALLY COUNTING REREADS TOWARD YOUR CHALLENGES NOW because that literally MADE my life last week.  I was so excited I started texting friends and family members, none of whom quite shared my excitement (but that’s to be expected). I am feeling so much less guilty about rereading books now because, guess what? THEY COUNT! So when I reread Windwitch in a hot second here and probably Passenger in the not so distant future and marathon the heck out of The Diviners series later this year before the third book is released – the third book that finally got a release date and mini-synopsis and I found it this week and had a minor fangirl freakout in the break room at work – alllll of those books will count. Basically, good job Goodreads for finally including an extremely common part of reading life on your site and in your reading challenge. Now if we could only get half stars…..

That’s it for me this time! What about you? What have you been reading lately?

See you next time!

 

One thought on “What I’m Reading – 2/13/17

Leave a Reply

