The Reader’s Confession Tag

Hello there, friends! I’m back with a new tag, this time its the Reader’s Confession Tag. I wasn’t tagged by anyone, and I’m not tagging anyone else (unless you want to be tagged, then, by all means, consider yourself tagged), but I discovered this tag from Samantha at Spines and Covers, so feel free to check her and her co-bloggers out!

Ready! Let’s break it down:

Have you ever damaged your own book?
All the time. It’s mostly minor damage – food marks on corners, little splash marks on the bottom pages from me reading in the bathtub, maybe baby rips from turning pages harshly in the heat of the moment. I abuse paperbacks without meaning to,which frustrates me to no end. I’m paranoid about the dust jackets on hardcovers. I get SUPER upset if they get lost or damaged. I tore the back of the dust jacket of my copy of Truthwitch and almost sobbed.

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?
If it’s a friend’s book, I don’t take it out of my room. I’m super crazy about how I treat other people’s books. I will admit to being slightly more lax in the care of library books. I kind of treat them a little better than I would treat my own, especially if I get one that’s already been…well-loved, shall we say. I feel horrible about saying that now. I’m a bad person.

How long does it take you to read a book?
I can read about 85 pages an hour – which I discovered by very scientifically timing myself one saturday – so I can finish most books in about 3-5 hours. Finding 3-5 hours to sit and read is a different story. So a few days, give or take, depending on work and life and interest in the book as a whole, unless I get sucked into the book, can’t put it down and break all commitments in order to finish it which happens more often than I’m willing to admit. I feel like what actually happens is I pick up two or three books over the course of Monday through Thursday, third of the way through them, and then read like a woman possessed all weekend to finish them.

Any Books you haven’t finished?
A few here and there. The one that I’m most ashamed of is A Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. I know a lot of people don’t like it, but I feel like I should at least finish the dang thing.

Hyped or Popular Books you don’t like?
The only one that I can think of off the top of my head is Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. Everyone loves this book and the farther removed I am from when I read it, the more I wonder if I actually liked it as much as I thought, or if I was just going with all the hype.

Classics you didn’t enjoy?
ANYTHING BY THOMAS HARDY. The person who created my high school’s Honors/AP English curriculum really liked their Thomas Hardy, because I had to read Tess of the D’Ubervilles and Mayor of Casterbridge and HATED both of them for reasons that are too numerous and rage-and-swear-word-inducing to list to on a public forum.

Books you bought just for the intellectual-ness of it all?
It’s actually kind of hilarious because both of my answers were purchased as much for fangirl as intellectual reasons. I bought Les Miserables by Victor Hugo with full intentions of reading it before I went to college. Never happened. I also bought Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow because I’m HamilTrash and it’s still sitting in my room, untouched. Oops.

Any books you haven’t given back?
Not a friend’s book but library books, on the other year……. I had a really bad habit when I was younger of finding library books that became new favorites….and I would “lose them at school” ….and my mom would pay for them to keep our library card current, and then I would miraculous find them in my room and we would just keep them. Yeahhhhhhhhhhh

For the record, I don’t do that anymore. Or at least since high school.

That’s all the confessions I have for now. Do you have any confessions you want to get off your chest?

See you next time! And Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a comment