What I’m Reading – 3/27/17

Hello everyone, welcome to my weekly update of all things reading. How’s life? I made the absurdly poor decision to attempt to clean out my closet this weekend. The current state of my bedroom is not fit for human habitation – YET I’m still here.

Oh well. Let’s get into it.

What I Read
I FINALLY finished A Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters, which took me way longer than it should have to finish. And then, despite the above mentioned closet disaster, I was able to finish Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta. Both of them were supposed to have a creep factor that I didn’t quite get, but enjoyed nonetheless. Both of the books will have reviews up later this week. And by later, I mean one of them is going up this afternoon.

What I’m Reading
I’m still reading City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. I gave up on the audiobook because the narrator’s voice was driving me up a freaking wall – none of the characters sounded any different from the others and she had a bit of a southern accent that was completely out of place for a book series that is primarily set in New York City. But I’ve switched to the physical book and I’ve been making more progress that way. Should have it finished in a day or two.

What I’m Reading Next
I FINALLY got my hold copy of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas from the library. The buzz surrounding this book has been UNREAL – the movie was announced before the book was even published – and its about a very important topic and I’m very excited to read it. And, ladies and gents, I’m quite happy to announce that I am FINIALLY going to start A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I feel like the last person on the face of the planet to not have read this book, but I’m getting to it guys. Its really happening.

Books I Acquired This Week
I went a little crazy at the library with hold requests a few weeks ago and they all came in at the same time. I had to make two trips to pick them all up. Oh well. I’m in a reading mood. #Shameless

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab (I TOLD YOU I WAS READING IT)
The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas
Long May She Reign – Rhiannon Thomas
Riot and Rememberance: The Tulsa Race War and its Legacy – James Hirsch (Look what Dreamland Burning did – now I’m reading non-fiction!)
The Bone Witch  – Rin Chupeco
Beautiful Broken Girls – Kim Savage
At The Edge of the Universe – Shaun David Hutchinson
Ronit and Jamil – Pamela L. Laskin
Get Even – Gretchen McNeil
The Hidden Memory of Objects – Danielle Mages Amato

As a final note, next week’s edition of this post will probably be a little late (Tuesday or later) because I’m going to Florida for a long weekend (GIVE IT TO ME NOWWWWWW) and not bringing my laptop with me. The recap will come, but late.

That’s it for me this time. What have you been reading lately?

Leave a Reply

